Queering Letters: Shame, Love and Self-Care – June 12

酷儿家书

The Art of Loving Our selves presented by Jinxiao

Community Mindfulness hosted by Keira May


Introduction

Jinxiao, “As an Asian queer young artist, I was suffering from the embodied shame of my sexual preference, which is the personal urgency that made me start my artistic research and practice in the Netherlands.”

Through performance, Jinxiao aims to create a safe space to practice embodied forms of (un)learning and explore self-love: the act of loving one’s self. In his performances, Jinxiao takes an intersectional approach to uncover and understand underlying affections, such as the shame experienced by a non-heterosexual man, his crisis of identity. The artist explores how oppressive power structures rooted in history, coloniality, capitalism and politics, have constructed an emotional framework one is forced to experience while searching for one’s sexual self-including a perpetual sense of shame.

Concurrent Activities: We are delighted to have Keira May lead us through a mindfulness to learn to calm the emotions and thoughts. We also have a writing workshop where we try to write a letter to ourselves.

Artist

Jinxiao (he/his) studied painting at the Fine Arts middle school affiliated with the Sichuan Fine Arts Institute, Chongqing, China (2007—2010) and obtained a BA in Movie and Animation from the same university (2010—2014). In 2014—2018, he worked in the field of children’s art education in China, obtained A MFA in the HKU University of the Arts.Utrecht, The Netherlands (2018-2020). Since 2018, Zhou’s art practice focuses on lecture-performance, which he sees as a continuation of his Constructivist pedagogical practice.

Mindfulness Practitioner

Keira May (They/Them) began their Yoga training as a practitioner of yoga for autism before completing their 200hr YTT in 2017. They are also qualified in Children’s Yoga and a Teacher and ambassador of Accessible Yoga. As an Accessible Yoga Teacher Keira aims to bring the benefits of yoga and mindfulness to everyone no matter your age, body type, gender, or physical ability.

Moderator

Jamie Chi (she/they) is an independent filmmaker and photographer. They are the director of a documentary & photography project called Safe Distance. Jamie is also the co-founder of Queer China UK.

Date: 12 June 2022 Sunday, 11am-1pm, UK Time | 12pm-2pm CEST UTC+2 | 6pm-8pm China Time | 6am-8am NY Time | 8pm-10pm Melbourne Time

Location: Zoom